Are you aware that the month of December is National Drunk & Drugged Driving Prevention Month and National Impaired Driving Month?  During the holidays many of us drive in order to visit our families and celebrate together.  Enjoying a few drinks is not an issue but becomes a costly one when someone gets behind the wheel.  With the chance to celebrate during the holidays we forget what implications these events may bring.  Law enforcement will be out in full force with checkpoints ensuring no one is driving drunk.  Prevent being the cause of seriously injuring others and spending the holidays in jail.  A DWI during the holidays or any day comes with many penalties.

Penalties for Driving While Intoxicated

The State of Texas basis its penalties on factors such as age, license type, driving history, and circumstances of arrest.  Below are penalties you will face if charged with a DWI:

  • Fines and surcharges that include court costs and lawyer fees
  • License suspension or revocation
  • Community service
  • Imprisonment regardless if it is first offense
  • DWI education and intervention programs
  • Increased insurance premiums

Minors and Driving While Impaired

Texas has a Zero Tolerance Law for drivers under the age of 21 years old.  For minors operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated or drugs in their system they will face:

  • Suspended license not exceeding 1 year
  • A fine of up to $500
  • Attend an Alcohol Education Program with a minimum of 12 hours
  • If an Alcohol Education program is not completed an additional 180 days will be added to their license suspension
  • Judge will suspended their license for 90 days along with community service and minor will have an ignition interlock device
  • Minors can also expect to pay fines, court costs, and legal fees if parents hire an attorney

Plan Ahead for a Safe and Sober Ride

Throughout the State of Texas law enforcement will create sobriety checkpoints during the holiday season.  Follow these simple steps that will assure you arrive home safely from holiday gatherings

  • Plan ahead on how you will be getting home
  • Before leaving for a party add contact information to your phone of local cab companies or car services
  • Download ride-sharing apps to your phone that can make it easier to get a ride
  • If you are going to drink ask your friend to be your designated driver for the night

Implications of DWI on Insurance Rates

  • DWI infraction remains indefinitely on your criminal record even if it drops off your driving record after 3-5 years
  • Higher insurance rates once driving records are ran by companies
  • The State of Texas requires proof of financial responsibility or an SR-22 ; provides the state with proof you have car insurance
  • SR-22 must be on file with the DPS for 2 years from the date of your DWI conviction; the State of Texas will not accept a regular insurance policy ID card
  • If your SR-22 is cancelled your driving privileges are revoked and your vehicle registration gets voided


Contact us for any information regarding adding an SR-22 to your insurance and for a free quote.